Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence

Joan S. Hunt Distinguished Mentoring Award

In 2012, the Joan S. Hunt Distinguished Mentoring Award was established as a prestigious award program for upper-level faculty. Dr. Hunt submitted and was awarded the Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) grant for the State of Kansas in 2001, which was renamed the IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) grant in 2004. The Kansas INBRE (K-INBRE) grant with a focus of cell and developmental biology, supports faculty and student research opportunities, professional development, recruitment and retention at nine universities in Kansas and one undergraduate university in Oklahoma.

Dr. Hunt's passion for mentoring has been evident throughout her prominent career. Spanning many years as a researcher, administrator and as Principal Investigator of the K-INBRE, Dr. Hunt has served as a valued mentor to numerous emerging scientists throughout Kansas, as well as internationally.

The intent of this award is to honor Dr. Hunt's commitment to mentoring, by recognizing K-INBRE faculty who make outstanding contributions to the State of Kansas, associated with a distinguished career in mentoring students, postdocs and faculty.

Qualified applicants are nominated by administrators of K-INBRE Partnering Universities. These individuals demonstrate a commitment to fostering the intellectual, creative, scholarly and professional growth of mentees, so they may be successful in their future careers. Sustained commitments to professional mentoring relationships, that result in career growth or personal development of mentees is evident. Additionally, these recipients value behavior, attitudes, and/or skills that aid the mentees in achieving competence, confidence, and professional identity.

The following awardees were recognized with a plaque at the annual K-INBRE Symposium, along with a financial award intended to further their research and/or mentoring activities:

2017: Rollie Clem, PhD (Kansas State University)
2016: Paul Cheney, PhD (University of Kansas Medical Center) 
2015: James Orr, PhD (University of Kansas, Lawrence)
2014: Gary Conrad, PhD (Kansas State University)
2013: Janice Barton, PhD (Washburn University)
2012: S. Keith Chapes, PhD (Kansas State University)